Entries open to architects in Canada

11 mai 2016 - 10 juin 2016

Vancouver House by Bjarke Ingells Group, “Future Project of the Year” at WAF 2015

Invitation :

“The World Architecture Festival (WAF) is calling for award entries from architects in Canada – projects must be submitted by the extended entry deadline of 10 June 2016.

Widely regarded as the Oscars of architecture world, not only does WAF provide the chance to win a global architectural accolade, but the festival also opens the door to international media coverage, peer and client recognition, and the potential for exciting new commissions all over the world.

Commenting on this year’s Awards, WAF Programme Director Paul Finch said:

“Canadian architects have been generous in their support of WAF since its launch in 2008. Our move to Berlin will mean a much more convenient journey for many, and we are looking forward to meeting new entrants and delegates, and renewing links with designers who attended the event when it was in Barcelona.”

The first members of this year’s ‘super-jury’ have been announced: Louisa Hutton of Sauerbruch Hutton, and Professor Frédéric Migayrou, Chair of The Bartlett School of Architecture. The esteemed panel of venerated architects will decide on the Festival’s ultimate prize – The World Building of the Year. Alan Balfour, Former Dean of Georgia Tech College of Architecture, and Bill Menking, Editor of the Architects Newspaper, will also judge.

David Chipperfield will deliver a keynote speech, responding to the Festival’s theme “Housing for everyone”. The Festival’s conference programme will debate the growing understanding of how demographics and global urbanisation are forcing change in the way we think about housing, with imperatives to create shelter at one end of the spectrum, and sufficiency for occupation and investment at the other. In all cases, while acknowledging that wider forces are at play, the programme will examine the significant contribution that architects can make.

This year’s World Architecture Festival will take place in Europe at Arena Berlin from the 16 – 18 November 2016 – one of the German capital’s best-known venues for cultural events situated next to the River Spree. Designed by Franz Ahrens, The Arena was built in 1927 as a bus depot for Berlin’s public transport system, and at the time was Europe’s largest free-standing hall. Officially closed following Germany’s reunification, the venue was reborn following extensive refurbishment works in the early 1990s.

Shortlisted nominees will present their projects live to an international jury to compete for the ultimate accolades of World Building of the Year and Future Project of the Year 2016, which have the power to transform careers, promoting your work to a global audience.”

To enter a project…

To visit the World Architecture Festival website…

Source : Lizzie Colville, Senior Account Manager | Caro Communications

Publié le 22 mai 2016