Actualité 08.01.2011

Laureates – Canadian Architect – "2010 Awards of Excellence"

Canadian Architect announces the winners of the 2010 Awards of Excellence, given each year to architects and architectural graduates for buildings in the design stage. One of only two national award programs devoted exclusively to architecture, the Awards of Excellence have recognized significant building projects in Canada on an annual basis since 1968.

This year’s winners have been selected by a jury consisting of Janna Levitt of Levitt Goodman Architects in Toronto, James Cheng of James KM Cheng Architects in Vancouver, and Andrew King of Cannon Design.

Awards are given for architectural design excellence. Jurors considered response to the program, site, geographical and social context, and evaluated physical organization, structure, materials and environmental features.

Six Awards of Excellence were given to the following firms:

  • Patkau Architects Inc. for the Cottages at Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pennsylvania
  • Cannon Design for the Capilano Film Centre in North Vancouver, British Columbia
  • 5468796 Architecture Inc. for Bloc_10 in Winnipeg, Manitoba
  • Smith Carter Architects and Engineers Incorporated in association with Parkin Architects for the Women and Newborn Hospital in Winnipeg, Manitoba
  • Atelier Big City for U in Montreal, Quebec
  • Baird Sampson Neuert Architects for the Brian C. Nevin Welcome Center, Cornell Plantations at Cornell University, Ithaca, New York”

To continue reading the article…

To view the winning projects…

(Source: Canadian Architect)

(Photo: “U” by Atelier Big City, Award of Excellence project)