Actualité 03.02.2023

Kazuyo Sejima and Phyllis Lambert named winners of the 2023 Jane Drew and Ada Louise Huxtable Prizes

The Architectural Review

Kazuyo Sejima (credit: Kohei Omachi) and Phyllis Lambert (credit: Alicia Lorente)

Excerpt of announcement from AR :

“27 JANUARY 2023

Director of SANAA Kazuyo Sejima and founder of the CCA Phyllis Lambert have been named this year’s recipients of the Jane Drew and Ada Louise Huxtable Prizes


Canadian architect, critic and conservation activist Phyllis Lambert is the winner of the Ada Louise Huxtable Prize for Contribution to Architecture 2023, which recognises individuals working in the wider architectural industry who have made a significant contribution to architecture and the built environment. Lambert commissioned and worked with Mies van der Rohe to design the Seagram Building in the 1950s and founded the Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA) in 1979. Lambert’s latest book, Observation Is a Constant That Underlies All Approaches, launched in January, and she is currently working on her next book, How Does Your City Grow, which will be published later this year.

While pressures of ecological and political crisis press in around us, Lambert continues to make room for critical discourse: ‘a heroic ambition that is increasingly urgent’, commented Deputy Editor of The Architectural Review Eleanor Beaumont. ‘Lambert encourages us to always be curious.’

The W Awards, in association with The Architectural Review and the Architects’ Journal, raise the profile of women and non-binary people in architecture worldwide, inspiring change as a united voice of this global call for respect, diversity and equality. The awards were started in 2012 to celebrate exemplary work of all kinds: from the design of the world’s most significant new buildings to contributions to wider architectural culture, from lifetimes of achievement to the work of women with bright futures ahead.”

To read the complete original announcement…

To visit the Architectural Review website…

Source : The Architectural Review