Actualité 14.02.2014

CALL FOR ENTRIES – Holcim Awards 2013-2014 – "Entries open in two million dollar sustainable construction competition"

Press release:

Entries open in two million dollar sustainable construction competition

The Holcim Awards is one of the most significant competitions in its field in terms of reputation and international scope. The fourth cycle of the competition offering a total of USD 2 million in prize money is now open for entries. The competition seeks leading projects from industry professionals and bold ideas from the “Next Generation” that contribute to sustainability within architecture, building, civil engineering, landscape and urban design, as well as construction materials and technologies. Entries must be submitted online at by March 24, 2014.

The Holcim Awards (main category) is open to architects, planners, engineers, project owners, builders and construction firms that showcase sustainable responses to technological, environmental, socioeconomic and cultural issues with contemporary building and construction. Projects must have reached an advanced stage of design, have a high probability of execution, and may not have started construction before July 1, 2013.

The competition also seeks visionary projects and bold ideas for the “Next Generation” (young professionals and students category). All authors must be aged between 18 and 30 years of age: (date of birth between July 2, 1982 and March 24, 1996), and the project may not have started construction before July 1, 2013.

Organized by the Swiss-based Holcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction the competition is conducted in parallel in five regions of the world in 2013/14 followed by a global phase in 2015. Regional winners will be announced at Holcim Awards ceremonies in late 2014 in Moscow (for region Europe), Toronto (North America), Medellín (Latin America), Beirut (Africa Middle East) and Jakarta (Asia Pacific).

Streamlined online entry process
Taking part in the competition has been streamlined by an interactive online entry form. Entries must be made in English using the web-based form to provide information on authors, a project summary and response to the “target issues” for sustainable construction, technical details, as well as project images or illustrations. A comprehensive “Step-by-step” guide explains the steps of preparing an entry at:

Internationally renowned architects and academics in juries
Independent jury panels of experts evaluate all entries against the five “target issues” for sustainable construction which cover economic, social and environmental performance as well as contextual/aesthetic impact, and innovation/transferability. The juries are headed by Jean-Philippe Vassal (for region Europe), Toshiko Mori (North America), Bruno Stagno (Latin America), Howayda Al-Harithy (Africa Middle East) and Rahul Mehrotra (Asia Pacific). A full list of jury members is available at:

Support by world-renowned technical universities
The Holcim Awards is conducted in partnership with some of the world’s leading technical universities which host the jury meetings. The Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH Zurich) leads the Technical Competence Center of the Holcim Foundation. Other partner universities are: Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA), Tongji University (China), Universidade de São Paulo (Brazil), University of the Witwatersrand (South Africa), Universidad Iberoamericana (Mexico), Ecole Supérieure d’Architecture de Casablanca (Morocco), Indian Institute of Technology (IIT Bombay), American University of Beirut (Lebanon), Tsinghua University (China) and University of Melbourne (Australia).

More than 150 prize winning projects over ten years
Previous Holcim Awards prize winners in more than 40 countries range from the provision of basic needs in developing communities through to complex technical solutions. Details about all previous Holcim Awards prize winners are available at:

Close of registration: March 24, 2014 at 14:00hrs GMT.

To consult the original press release…

For more information…

(Source: Canadian Architect)