Actualité 21.02.2014

ANNOUNCEMENT – 61st Annual Progressive Architecture Awards – "Saucier + Perrotte architectes receive citation for Soccer Centre"


“Just what is it that makes this year’s winners so different, so appealing? Jurors Lise Anne Couture, AIA, Nataly Gattegno, Sasa Radulovic, and Marcelo Spina, Intl. Assoc. AIA, focused on innovation, but not for its own sake. Out of more than 150 submissions, the jurors recognized 10 projects, each of them “able to achieve its potential,” as Couture put it. More specifically, what won over the jury was a holistic approach to design with an eye toward practical realization.

The winners:

First Award
Tianjin EcoCity Ecology and Planning Museums
Steven Holl Architects
Tianjin, China

Kaohsiung Port Terminal
RUR Architecture
Kaohsiung, Taiwan

National Music Centre of Canada
Allied Works Architecture
Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Liverpool Department Store – Insurgentes
Rojkind Arquitectos
Mexico City

Faculty of Architecture, Building & Planning, University of Melbourne
John Wardle Architects and NADAAA in collaboration
Melbourne, Australia

Soccer Centre at St. Michel Environmental Complex
Saucier + Perrotte Architectes / Hughes Condon Marler Architects

The Broad
Diller Scofidio + Renfro in collaboration with Gensler
Los Angeles

Honorable Mentions
Fayetteville 2030: Food City Scenario
The University of Arkansas Community Design Center
Fayetteville, Ark.

TBA 21
Xefirotarch / Hernan Diaz Alonso
Patagonia, Argentina

Albuquerque Rail Yards Master Plan
Eric Owen Moss Architects
Albuquerque, N.M.”

To continue reading…

To view jurors’ comments about the Soccer Complex Citation…

To visit the Saucier + Perrotte architectes website…

(Source: Saucier + Perrotte architectes)

(Photo credit: Olivier Blouin)