Actualité 20.06.2008

2008 RIBA Awards

20080620-riba-a.jpg“RIBA Awards are given for buildings that have high architectural standards and make a substantial contribution to the local environment. The awards are annual, and have been running continuously since 1966.

The buildings are judged in the first instance by shortlisting panels in each region, who visit schemes individually and meet to produce a list of buildings to be visited by the region’s jury. Each regional jury is made up of a regional representative, a lay assessor from various disciplines and the jury chair, who is a nationally renowned architect and chairs the shortlisting panel. They visit the shortlisted projects, talking to clients and users and assessing design excellence irrespective of style, size or complexity of the project. The jury changes every year.

92 buildings across the UK have been announced as winners of the 2008 RIBA Awards. Events in London, Manchester and Reading presented winners with plaques and certificates on 16 May. Other winners are presented later in the year at regional events.
RIBA Award-winning buildings go on to be considered for
RIBA National Awards, which will be awarded at a ceremony on 27 June 2008.”

To view the winning projects…

(Source: Nicolas Marier)