2008 Winners of AIA New York Design Awards

20080311-dexigner-a.jpg« The AIA New York Chapter announced today this year’s recipients of the organization’s coveted Design Awards. The winners represent exceptional work in three categories for architectural excellence: interiors, architecture, and projects (unbuilt). Given either « honors » or « merit » citations, each winner has been recognized as « unique and exemplary in its originality » by the distinguished jury including David Adjaye, Ada Karmi-Melamede, and Pamela Babey.

« The AIA New York Chapter’s Design Awards program is intended to increase awareness of outstanding design by New York architects, as well as projects within the city, » says James McCullar, FAIA, 2008 AIA New York Chapter President. « The awards also honor the architects, clients and design consultants who work together to improve New York’s built environment. »

Judged by this year’s panel of eminent jurors (listed below), the award recipients were selected out of a record crop of 400 submissions from architects across the United States and 12 foreign countries. Winning projects are by well-known designers such as Steven Holl and Tod Williams Billie Tsien as well as emerging talents including WORK Architecture Company and Zakrzewski + Hyde Architects. « Collectively, these award-winning projects show that design excellence matters, » said Rick Bell, FAIA, Executive Director of the AIA New York Chapter. »

For more information…

(Source: Dexigner Newsletter of March 11 2008)

Veuillez noter que les commentaires sont sujets à modération

Laisser un commentaire